Archive for December, 2015

2015 Wrap-Up

December 17th, 2015 | Uncategorized | Comments Off on 2015 Wrap-Up

A big thank you to the PEIHRIA for travel cheques and Meridian Farms for the feed certificates presented at the Challenge Series races and the funds for extra door prizes at the banquet. This year we had a prize for EVERYONE (around 150 this year!), thanks to Meridian and our wonderful sponsors.
Meridian also sponsored a set of hopples, won by Phil DesRoches.

2015 Recap:
June 24th: Brady Sweet had his first lifetime win on JK Crusher at Pinette.
July 8th: The CF Willis Memorial at O’Leary was won by Billy MacKay on Westedge Artist
July 25th: Mary Jean Noye had her first career driving win on her own Mayhem Man at Alberton.
On the same card, Ryan DesRoches drove Kristina McCourt’s Whatabadgirl to win the Harry O’Brien Memorial.
August 29th: Zach Conway had his first lifetime win at Kensington with his own Didyouseethat.
September 6th: Kensington – Drew Neill had his first lifetime win driving Queen Of Pembroke for owners Robert and Jenny Parsons. Garth Cole set a new trotting record with I Aint No Lady in the Lea Bell Trot and Austin Sorrie set the pacing track record with Lisfinny for owner Mary Jean Noye.
September 9th: O’Leary – Jacob Sweet made his driving debut in the Children’s Wish charity races, finishing second with Smart Barney. Thirteen-year-old Brady Sweet won with JK Crusher, 18-year-old Ryan DesRoches won with Babies Gigalo, 15-year-old Drew Neill got his second lifetime win with Queen Of Pembroke and 16-year-old Austin Sorrie got a driving double with Millar Millar and Lisfinny.
Finals, Summerside, September 20th:
C Division: Heather Gamester went wire-to-wire with Royal Val.
B Division: Austin Sorrie won with Tammy Collings Freddy My Boy.
A Division (Dept. of Agriculture trophy): Austin Sorrie won with Mary Jean Noye’s Lisfinny.

2015 Awards:
2015 Matinee Horse of the Year: JK Crusher
2015 Matinee Mare of the Year: Queen Of Pembroke
2015 Fan Favourite: Reincarnate
C Division Champion: Royal Val
B Division Champion: Freddy My Boy
2015 Matinee Champion (A Division) Lisfinny
Rising Star Awards (Sponsored by Willy MacKay):
Kyle DesRoches
Jacob Sweet
Drew Neill
Aleisha MacMillan
2015 Jr.Rookie of the Year: Brady Sweet
2015 Rookie of the Year: Zachary Conway
Under 21 Driver of the Year: Ryan DesRoches (presented with a stopwatch courtesy of Greenhawk)
2015 Female Driver of the Year: Heather Gamester
2015 Driver of the Year: Austin Sorrie
Meridian Farms Sportsman of the Year Award: Raymond White
2015 Owner of the Year (points award): Willie McKay for O U Meggalegs

youth drivers

The future of PEI harness racing!