Archive for December, 2010

Attention Matinee Horsemen

December 14th, 2010 | Uncategorized | Comments Off on Attention Matinee Horsemen

A change in the format of the government sponsored Travel Allowance was made at the 2010 Matinee Racetracks Directors Meeting. The owner of each horse racing at any of the Challenge Series races in 2010 would receive a cheque, regardless of mileage.
Not all of the tracks hosting the series turned in the names and addresses of the participants. Cheques have been mailed to everyone whose address was recorded. If you participated in the 2010 Challenge Series at Pinette, Alberton, Kensington, O’Leary or Tyne Valley and have not received a cheque, please call Susan at the Matinee Office, at 902-894-6511.

Awards Banquet Sponsors

December 14th, 2010 | Uncategorized | Comments Off on Awards Banquet Sponsors

There were some very generous sponsors for the door prizes at the PEIHRIA & Matinee Tracks awards banquet this year and everyone present was very appreciative. The companies and individuals that donated door prizes in 2010 are:
Phillips Feed Service
By The River Bakery & Cafe
Kensington Country Store
Clows Red & White
Clarence Farm Services
Circle K Hunter River
Save Easy, Kensington
Murphys Pharmacy, Kensington
Maritime Tack & Supply (Chuckys)
Hunter River Pharmacy
Greenhawk, Charlottetown
Charlottetown Veterinary Clinic
Kensington Veterinary Clinic
Agro Co-op, Charlottetown
Kenmac Energy
Blois & Uldine Dickieson
Byron & Mary Gamester
Bobby McDougall
Kent Building Supplies, Bloomfield
KFC, Bloomfield,
Price Choppers, Bloomfield
O’Leary Farmers Co-op
Grecos, Bloomfield
O’Leary Auto Parts
O’Leary Guardian Drugs
Bloomfield Cat Dealer
Vinnys Restaurant, O’Leary
Green Diamond John Deere, O’Leary
Terry & Bridgette Shea

A big “thank you” to all of the generous sponsors.

PEIHRIA & Matinee Awards Banquet

December 14th, 2010 | Uncategorized | Comments Off on PEIHRIA & Matinee Awards Banquet

Red Shores at Charlottetown Driving Park was the venue for the annual PEI Harness Racing Industry Association and Matinee Racetrack Dinner and Awards Banquet on December 7th. Awards were won by the top points earners, both human and horse, in the 2010 Challenge Series at the five matinee tracks across the Island and the Honorable Wes Sheridan, Minister Of Finance, was on hand to present the trophies to the winners.
Scott MacPhail of Montague received the Sportsman Of The Year award for his long, meritorious service to the matinee program, working tirelessly since its inception towards promotion, infrastructure upgrades and youth involvement.
Top points drivers in the Challenge Series this summer confirms the value of the program to attract youth, as Amateur Driver of the Year went to 21-year-old Devon Wallace of Alberton, Driver Under 21 Division was won by 18-year-old Brandon Darrach of O’Leary and the Rookie Of The Year (Driver) was 12-year-old Ryan DesRoche of O’Leary.

The 2010 Matinee Challenge Series winners are:
Owner of the Year: Robert Parsons for Miller Miller
Amateur Driver Of The Year: Devon Wallace
Driver Of The Year, Under 21: Brandon Darrach
Rookie Of The Year: Ryan DesRoche
Sportsman Of The Year: Scott MacPhail
A Division Champion: Sammys Luck
B Division Champion: Stracor
C Division and 2010 Matinee Champion: Glengyle Cody

From 2010 matinee awards

Devon Wallace – Driver Of The Year

From 2010 matinee awards

Brandon Darrach, Driver Of The Year, Under 21 Division

From 2010 matinee awards

Ryan DesRoche, Rookie Of The Year

From 2010 matinee awards

Robert Parsons, Owner Of The Year

From 2010 matinee awards

Scott MacPhail, Sportsman Of The Year

From 2010 matinee awards

Kerry Shea, Rising Star Award